hunthunt
Share this page:

The regulatory reform onslaught continues


2013 is shaping up to be a major year for reforms and consultations in the Financial Services sector.

Written by

Richard Williams,
Partner

View profile


Download PDF

In the last few weeks alone three announcements/releases have taken place, namely:

  • Changes to Disclosure Requirements under the National Consumer Protection Act 2009 – Treasury Discussion Paper released 8 April 2013 Read more
  • Disclosure requirements for small amount credit contracts - Treasury Discussion Paper released 24 April 2013
  • Treasury response to Phase II Submissions – Treasury Discussion Paper released 24 April 2013

And, perhaps the biggest surprise of the lot:

  • "A review of the benchmarks for industry based consumer dispute resolution schemes" – announced by the Assistant Treasurer in media release on Wednesday 24 April 2013 Read more.

This Dispute Resolution review follows close on the heels of ASIC's review of EDR Schemes where the consultation period has only just finished.

Where we consider clients will be specifically interested in more detail on particular reforms, we will release further email alerts giving more detail

CONTACT

Penny Cable, Sydney +61 2 9391 3160 pcable@hunthunt.com.au
Jill Milburn, Sydney +61 2 9391 3142 jmilburn@hunthunt.com.au
Richard Williams, Melbourne +61 3 8602 9218 rwilliams@hunthunt.com.au
Neville Debney, Melbourne +61 3 8602 9253 ndebney@hunthunt.com.au
Mary Nemeth, Melbourne +61 3 8602 9258 mnemeth@hunthunt.com.au
Rick Harley, Adelaide +61 8 8414 3373 rharley@hunthunt.com.au
Darren Miller, Perth +61 8 9488 1318 darren.miller@culshawmiller.com.au

 

Sydney     |    North Ryde     |    Melbourne     |    Brisbane     |    Perth     |    Darwin     |    Shanghai     |     Interlaw
© 2006 - 2016 Hunt & Hunt    |